Share |

Syrlinks creates the first Argos 4 master beacons for CNES.

Argos 4: Master beacons

Presentation of the Argos system

Argos is a satellite based system which collects and processes data dedicated to the study and protection of our environment. Argos can locate, on a planetary scale, any device equipped with a compatible emitter. This fully integrated system can also collect data from sensors linked to the emitter. The use of the Argos system is reserved exclusively to research programmes dedicated to the environment, the protection of human life and studiesof governmental interest. Withthousands of active transmitters located around the globe, Argos has become the reference for the study and protection of the environment.Fully operationnal since 1978, the Argos system came about as a Franco-American cooperation between:

  • The National Centre for Space Studies (CNES)
  • The US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
  • The US National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

In 2006, The operations committee was joined by the following partners :

  • The Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
  • The European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT).
  • The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)

Created in 1986, the Argos system is operated, managed and marketed by CLS, a CNES subsidiary.

CNES has entrusted Syrlinks with the task of developing the new generation of Argos 4 reference or master beacons.These beacons will be distributed throughout the globe end of 2015, beginning of 2016. The aim of this major evolution is to increase the overall performance of the Argos system by significantly improving the quality of its service.

The Argos 4 waveform, consistent with Argos 2 et 3, is the latest generation.

Like Argos 3, it supports a bidirectional link allowing improved management of beacons all over the world and allows for a better performance in presence of interference.

The Argos 4 downlink signal represents a major technological breakthrough compared to the previous generations as it is based on spread spectrum technology (Code Division Multiple Access) allowing improvement of the performance. However, the complexity of the acquisition and the demodulation functions are around 100 times more complex than Argos 3 and require more algorithm optimisations.   

Syrlinks has also developed for CNES a full Argos beacon testbench which is dedicated to testing all Argos waveforms for uplink as well as downlink.

28 Rue Robert Keller
ZAC des Champs Blancs, 35510 Cesson-Sévigné
Tél. +33 (0)2 99 00 94 52 - Fax +33 (0)2 99 00 94 58
Site Map >>